Indyfans
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Indyfans

The Official Message Board

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Walking in their footsteps

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
PonyR
Camel Jockey
Camel Jockey

Walking in their footsteps Empty
PostSubject: Walking in their footsteps   Walking in their footsteps Icon_minitimeMon Mar 24, 2008 11:25 pm

Hi, My name is Pony. I am not only an Indiana Jones fan, but I also work in the TV and movie industry right here in L.A.
Back in late '81 and early '82, when RAIDERS was still running in some theaters, I had an opportunity to visit Kauai, and Oahu. Well, knowing that I was going to be near the places where RAIDERS was shot, I called the offices of Spielberg's company at Universal Studios, and was directly connected to none other than Frank Marshall himself! He was very nice, and when I asked him where they shot the opening scenes, he told me how to find Anahola, the pointed mountain seen in the opening shot, as well as the Huleia River, all near Lihui. Well, I had been practicing with my new bullwhip (a cheap, but sturdy Mexican swivel-handled 8-plait monster I bought on Olvera Street in L.A.) and, along with my friend Russ, my old Resistol fedora, and my Super-8 film camera, we went to Kauai. Well, the first thing that happened was that I got detained in the airport in Honolulu because they thought I was going to do something stupid with my bullwhip, like hijack the city. Finally, after an hour, they let me and my whip go free.